Having  just dashed around the house, clearing surfaces ready for the letting agent to take photos, all was in readiness, until I moved the gigantic speakers. They were placed either side of the fireplace and when used thrummed throughout the house. I was really pleased to get them out of the room. The fireplace had been boarded over nearly twenty years ago when we first moved in. It had contained the back boiler which the firemen condemned and sealed off. When we redid the roof there was no need to open the chimney and so it had stayed boarded and painted.

Moving the speakers meant I had to clean under the board where the stray dog hairs had congregated out of reach of the vacuum cleaner’s nozzle. (We haven’t had a dog in almost a year but I still find hairs around- what is it with dog hairs?) So I brushed them up, to find little bits of brick appearing. Brushing those up caused more to leak out… and more…and more. It is like the magic porridge pot. I can’t seem to stop the flow.

I am now scared of other things that might be trapped behind the board. Perhaps the chimney is full of things; moths, wasps, birds, eggs all piling up to the roof. I am glad it won’t be me unscrewing the board to look. Although it might be a water baby…

Is this a metaphor for life? Have I boarded up all my creative skills and now, when I need them, they are trickling out. Maybe I need to unscrew that board.

Better watch out, juices are flowing…

